Partners

Partners
  • William Kentridge: More Sweetly Play the Dance

    January 30, 2018 – May 20, 2018

Presented by:
Cincinnati Art Museum
About the Event:

Contemporary South African artist William Kentridge's More Sweetly Play the Dance will make its North American museum premiere at the Cincinnati Art Museum from April 26, 2017 to May 20, 2018. The work is a loan from the LUMA Foundation and is presented with lead sponsorship from the Marnick Foundation and additional support from Cincinnati-based FotoFocus and the Millard F. Rogers, Jr. Fund. This powerful film installation encircles the viewer with seven screens, on which a procession of travelers passes across a charcoal-drawn animated landscape. The immersive panorama hints at multiple histories, evoking a danse macabre, a jazz funeral, an exodus and a journey. Accompanied by a brass band, the film references medieval manuscripts and the storylines of refuge throughout history.

Event Schedule:

January 30, 2018 – May 20, 2018

  • Fri Mar 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 15, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 22, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 29, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 31, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 3, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 5, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 12, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 19, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 22, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 26, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 29, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 3, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri May 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 5, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 10, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri May 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 12, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 17, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri May 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 19, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition

Search for More Events

About Arts in Ohio

ArtsinOhio.com is your one-stop resource for arts, festivals and cultural events throughout the Buckeye State. And, even better, it’s free!

Special Offers & Updates