Partners

Partners
  • His Eye is on the Sparrow

    April 24, 2018 – May 19, 2018

Presented by:
Ensemble Theatre Cincinnati

Tickets: $25 - $52

General

About the Event:

Born in 1896 into abject poverty, Ethel Waters became a Vaudeville success and a recording sensation while crossing racial barriers to emerge as a Broadway and Hollywood star. However, a reputation for being difficult and her own distrust of those who might employ her or love her-largely a response to the unspeakable horrors of Jim Crow America-caused her to lose everything and become a recluse, until she found new strength from a most unlikely source. The music spans the decades of Waters's career from the uplifting gospel spirituals of her youth to the blues and jazz of her 1920s Cotton Club days; plus "Frankie and Johnny;" the 1933 Rudy Vallee/Hoagy Carmichael classic "Old Man Harlem;" and Fats Waller's "Cabin in the Sky," sung by Waters in the hit 1940s Broadway musical of the same name. This show is a powerful, heartbreaking, and uplifting account of the legendary Ethel Waters, who overcame a spirit-breaking childhood and racial injustice to become a legendary jazz and blues singer, Broadway pioneer, and Oscar-nominated actress.

Event Schedule:

April 24, 2018 – May 19, 2018

  • Tue Apr 24, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 25, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Thu Apr 26, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Fri Apr 27, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 28, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 28, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 29, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 29, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue May 1, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Wed May 2, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Thu May 3, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Fri May 4, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
  • Sat May 5, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat May 5, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
  • Sun May 6, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun May 6, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue May 8, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Wed May 9, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Thu May 10, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Fri May 11, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
  • Sat May 12, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat May 12, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
  • Sun May 13, 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun May 13, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed May 16, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Thu May 17, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Fri May 18, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
  • Sat May 19, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Theater/Performance


Type

General

Search for More Events

About Arts in Ohio

ArtsinOhio.com is your one-stop resource for arts, festivals and cultural events throughout the Buckeye State. And, even better, it’s free!

Special Offers & Updates