Scrimmage: Football in American Art from the Civil War to the Present

Presented by Canton Museum of Art

Venue: Canton Museum of Art

City: Canton

Scrimmage investigates the history of football imagery by prominent American artists and photographers beginning with Winslow Homer’s engravings for Harper’s Weekly at the close of the Civil War and culminating with the work of contemporary artists such as Catherine Opie and Shaun Leonardo. Featuring more than 60 artworks, which represent a variety of media including prints, paintings, sculpture, photographs and video, the exhibition contains works assembled from the Smithsonian American Art Museum, the National Portrait Gallery, the Figge Art Museum, Denver Art Museum, The Rockwell Museum, The Museum of Fine Arts - Houston, Yale University, Canton Museum of Art, and numerous other public and private collections. The imagery in Scrimmage attests to the fact that football has played a significant role in American cultural history for the last 150 years. Scrimmage is the first scholarly exhibition to survey football in art and to demonstrate that a multitude of artists have made important images of this quintessentially American sport. This special exhibition is organized by the Gregory Allicar Museum of Art (formerly the University Art Museum) at Colorado State University, and the Jorden Schnitzer Museum of Art at the University of Oregon.

  • August 1, 2017 – October 29, 2017
  • Sun Sep 24 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 26 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 27 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 28 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 29 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 30 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 01 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 03 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 04 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 05 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 06 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 07 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 08 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 10 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 11 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 12 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 13 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 14 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 15 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 17 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 18 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 19 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 20 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 21 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 22 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 24 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 25 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 26 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 27 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 28 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 29 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Cincinnati USA Experience Columbus Ohio Arts Council Destination Toledo Tourism Ohio Positively Cleveland Ohio Magazine Greater Columbus Arts Council