Chaekgeori: Pleasure of Possessions in Korean Painted Screens

Presented by The Cleveland Museum of Art

Venue: The Cleveland Museum of Art

City: Cleveland

Chaekgeori: Pleasure of Possessions in Korean Painted Screens is the first international exhibition in the US to explore the artistic evolution of a distinctive pictorial genre called chaekgeori (pronounced check-oh-ree). Translated as “books and things,” chaekgeori refers to a style of still-life painting, first developed in Korea around the late 1700s, that creates the illusion of three dimensions on a two-dimensional surface. By the late 1800s, chaekgeori screens had become a popular furnishing item to decorate the Korean collector’s studio, displaying his high aesthetic taste and socioeconomic status. The show invites viewers to witness an exciting moment when Koreans became active participants in global consumerism through their passionate collecting activities.

  • August 5, 2017 – November 5, 2017
  • Sat Aug 19 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 20 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 22 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 24 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 26 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 27 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 29 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 31 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 02 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 03 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 05 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 07 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 09 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 10 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 12 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 14 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 16 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 17 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 19 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 21 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 23 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 24 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 26 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 28 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 30 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 01 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 03 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 05 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 07 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 08 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 10 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 12 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 14 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 15 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 17 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 19 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 21 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 22 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 24 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 26 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 28 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 29 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 31 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 02 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 04 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 05 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Cincinnati USA Experience Columbus Ohio Arts Council Destination Toledo Tourism Ohio Positively Cleveland Ohio Magazine Greater Columbus Arts Council