The Jazz Age: American Style in the 1920s

Presented by The Cleveland Museum of Art

Venue: The Cleveland Museum of Art

City: Cleveland

The Jazz Age: American Style in the 1920s will be the first major museum exhibition to focus on American taste in art and design during the dynamic years of the 1920s and early 1930s. After the First World War, American money and culture helped transform the global marketplace. The United States became the leading marketplace for innovative architecture, interior decoration, decorative art, fashion, music, and film. With the map of Europe redrawn and social mores redefined, creative influences merged. Talent and craftsmanship, urbanity and experimentation flowed back and forth across the Atlantic with an influx of European émigré designers coming to America and a rush of American creative talent traveling and studying abroad. Against a backdrop of traditional historicist styles, a new language of design emerged to define an era of innovation and modernity—the Jazz Age—capturing the pulse and rhythm of the American spirit.

The Jazz Age: American Style in the 1920s is co-organized by the Cleveland Museum of Art and Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum, New York.

  • September 30, 2017 – January 14, 2018
  • Sat Nov 18 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 19 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 21 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 22 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 23 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 24 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 25 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 26 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 28 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 29 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 30 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 01 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 02 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 03 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 05 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 06 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 07 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 08 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 09 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 10 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 12 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 13 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 14 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 15 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 16 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 17 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 19 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 20 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 21 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 22 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 23 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 24 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 26 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 27 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 28 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 29 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 30 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 31 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 02 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 03 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 04 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 05 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 06 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 07 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 09 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 10 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 11 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 12 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 13 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 14 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Cincinnati USA Experience Columbus Ohio Arts Council Destination Toledo Tourism Ohio Positively Cleveland Ohio Magazine Greater Columbus Arts Council