Partners

Partners
  • William Kentridge: The Refusal of Time

    February 3, 2018 – April 15, 2018

Presented by:
Wexner Center for the Arts

Tickets: $0 - $8

Get Tickets

Free for members, college students (with valid ID), those under 18 $8 general public $6 senior citizens (65 and older) $6 Ohio State faculty

About the Event:

William Kentridge: The Refusal of Time Winter/Spring 2018 Preview“A great artist working at the peak of his powers”—Boston Globe Experience the fusion of art, science, and history, and explore thought-provoking ideas about time in this spectacularly immersive installation by acclaimed artist William Kentridge. Combining projections of his evocative, often-humorous hand-drawn animations and live-action sequences with music and sculpture, The Refusal of Time is as visually stunning as it is mind-opening. The project evolved from Kentridge’s conversations with Harvard professor Peter Galison about revolutions in the conception of time around the dawn of the 20th century—from Albert Einstein’s radical theory of relativity to new attempts to standardize time, a means of asserting control and fortifying colonization. The latter is an ongoing theme for Kentridge, who lives and works in South Africa. For The Refusal of Time, Kentridge transforms the space of a gallery into a vibrant theater of activity where you’ll move among screens, dispersed crates and chairs, large megaphones, and at the center, a mysteriously imposing wooden device. Appearing to breathe, the machine seems to power the images and sounds that fill your senses. Hypnotic, mesmerizing, and rich in its ambiguity, the work is a poetic investigation into humanity’s journey through time as an act of resistance and rebellion—against imposed worldviews as well as our own mortality. As Kentridge said of the work, it’s a search for “moments of coherence, of understanding and changing the world, which is the most we can hope for.” Image Credits William Kentridge, The Refusal of Time , 2012. Made in collaboration with Philip Miller, Catherine Meyburgh, Dada Masilo, and Peter Galison. Five-channel video, black-and-white and color, sound, 30 mins.; steel megaphones and breathing machine "elephant." Dimensions variable. © 2012 William Kentridge. All rights reserved. Jointly owned by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (purchased, by exchange, through an anonymous gift and the K. Hart Smith Trust) and The Metropolitan Museum of Art (purchased with Roy R. and Marie S. Neuberger Foundation Inc., Wendy Fisher Gifts, and The Raymond and Beverly Sackler 21st Century Art Fund). Image 1: Installation view, © The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Image source: Art Resource, NY. Images 2, 4, 5: Film stills courtesy of the artist, Marian Goodman Gallery, Lia Rumma Gallery, and Goodman Gallery. Image 3, 6: Installation view, the Institute of Contemporary Art/Boston, 2014. Photo: Charles Mayer Photography. 

Event Schedule:

February 3, 2018 – April 15, 2018

  • Sat Feb 3, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 4, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Feb 5, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 6, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 7, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 8, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 9, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 10, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 11, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Feb 12, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 13, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 14, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 15, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 16, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 17, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 18, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Feb 19, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 20, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 21, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 22, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 23, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 24, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 25, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Feb 26, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 27, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 28, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 1, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 2, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 3, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 4, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 5, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 6, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 7, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 8, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 9, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 10, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 11, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 12, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 13, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 14, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 15, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 16, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 17, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 18, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 19, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 20, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 21, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 22, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 23, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 24, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 25, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 26, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 27, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 28, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 29, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 30, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 31, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 1, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Apr 2, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 3, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 4, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 5, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 6, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 7, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 8, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Mon Apr 9, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 10, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 11, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 12, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 13, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 14, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 15, 8:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Visual Arts

Film


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Funded by GCAC, Funded by OAC

Search for More Events

About Arts in Ohio

ArtsinOhio.com is your one-stop resource for arts, festivals and cultural events throughout the Buckeye State. And, even better, it’s free!

Special Offers & Updates