Partners

Partners
  • The Gallery at GFC: VLNS NVR DIE by Grant Gilsdorf

    January 12, 2018 – March 31, 2018

Presented by:
Gateway Film Center
About the Event:

On Friday, January 12, the independent, nonprofit Gateway Film Center will proudly open its new gallery exhibition, “VLNS NVR DIE,” by Columbus artist Grant Gilsdorf with an evening party including live music and artist-led tours, followed by a screening of Stanley Kubrick’s 1971 masterpiece A Clockwork Orange in 35mm. The exhibit will feature a series of gestural paintings of memorable cinematic villains and antiheroes including Alex from A Clockwork Orange, the Joker from The Dark Knight, and Hannibal from The Silence of the Lambs, and minimalist representations of various villain “artifacts” like Darth Vader’s mask, a revolver from Tombstone, and more.“This show celebrates those characters who burrow deep into our psyche and etch themselves into our memory, lingering long after the credits roll,” shared Gilsdorf. “Regardless of their journey or demise, these characters survive and become evidence that there are those who chose to live by their own code. They warn us that evil can exist. They become immortal within us.”The Gallery at Gateway Film Center is a movie-themed art space located on-site at the film center, and is free to all ticket holders. Featuring movie-inspired collections by local artists, The Gallery is designed to thrill and inspire GFC guests, support and promote Columbus arts, and explore how storytelling extends off the silver screen into paintings, sculptures, and more. All art is available for purchase including limited edition prints and t-shirts available for “VLNS NVR DIE.”  Pre-show reception begins at 6 p.m. in The Torpedo Room followed by a screening of A Clockwork Orange in 35mm, beginning at 9 p.m. The Gallery is open during regular film center business hours and is free to visit with any movie ticket, Torpedo Room, or concession purchase. Gilsdorf’s “VLNS NVR DIE” will run through the end of March. About Grant Dilsdorf: Grant Gilsdorf is an Ohio born and raised contemporary realistic narrative painter who has harnessed his exquisitely rendered realistic paintings into a visionary storytelling device that combines images of carefully crafted beauty existing within a brutal and gritty reality. His dark, tension-filled works mirror the narrative driven experience of viewing a feature film, and his expertly rendered paintings leave the viewer contemplating their symbolic significance. Gilsdorf studied at Bowling Green State University and now lives in Columbus, Ohio with his wife, Amber, and their son, Coen Grey.

Event Schedule:

January 12, 2018 – March 31, 2018

  • Mon Feb 19, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 20, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 21, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 22, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 23, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 24, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 25, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Mon Feb 26, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 27, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 28, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 1, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 2, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 3, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 4, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 5, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 6, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 7, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 8, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 9, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 10, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 11, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 12, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 13, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 14, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 15, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 16, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 17, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 18, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 19, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 20, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 21, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 22, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 23, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 24, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 25, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 26, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 27, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 28, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 29, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 30, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 31, 9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Painting

Visual Arts

Film


Type

Exhibition

Search for More Events

About Arts in Ohio

ArtsinOhio.com is your one-stop resource for arts, festivals and cultural events throughout the Buckeye State. And, even better, it’s free!

Special Offers & Updates