Partners

Partners
  • Mickalene Thomas: I Can’t See You Without Me

    September 15, 2018 – December 30, 2018

Presented by:
Wexner Center for the Arts

Tickets: $0 - $8

Get Tickets

Free for members, college students (with valid ID), those under 18 $8 general public $6 senior citizens (65 and older) $6 Ohio State faculty

About the Event:

“A hallmark of Thomas’s work…is what she describes as ‘recognition and acknowledgement and validation: you see me and I see you.’ It can be difficult to tear yourself away from those gazes. But then, why would you want to?”—Nicole Rudick, Paris Review  The work of celebrated, multidisciplinary artist Mickalene Thomas fills our galleries this fall in this new exhibition that explores art history, identity, desire, and the charged relationship between artist and muse. You’ll encounter Thomas’s signature rhinestone-encrusted paintings, videos and installations, and the premiere of a Wex-commissioned project created with Grammy Award–winning drummer and composer Terri Lyne Carrington. Mickalene Thomas: I Can’t See You Without Me was organized by the Wexner Center for the Arts and curated by Michael Goodson, senior curator of exhibitions, and Lucy I. Zimmerman, curatorial assistant. The Crane Family Foundation is a supporting sponsor of the exhibition. Additional support is provided by Crabbe, Brown & James and Donna and Larry James.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

September 15, 2018 – December 30, 2018

  • Wed Oct 17, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 18, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 19, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 20, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 21, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Oct 22, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 23, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 24, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 25, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 26, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 27, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 28, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Oct 29, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 30, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 31, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 1, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 2, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 3, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 4, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Nov 5, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 6, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 7, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 8, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 9, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 10, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 11, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Nov 12, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 13, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 14, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 15, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 16, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 17, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 18, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Nov 19, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 20, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 21, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 22, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 23, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 24, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 25, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Nov 26, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 27, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 28, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 29, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 30, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 1, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 2, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Dec 3, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 4, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 5, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 6, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 7, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 8, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 9, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Dec 10, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 11, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 12, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 13, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 14, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 15, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 16, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Dec 17, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 18, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 19, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 20, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 21, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 22, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 23, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Dec 24, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 25, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 26, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 27, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 28, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 29, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 30, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Funded by GCAC, Funded by OAC, Harlem Renaissance Event

You May Also Like

Search for More Events