Partners

Partners
  • TapeScape-Sticky Science

    May 4, 2018 – September 3, 2018

About the Event:

Get ready for an exhibition unlike any the Science Center has presented before – TapeScape-Sticky Science! Everyone is familiar with the unmistakable shrrrrrrrriiiippp sound that tape makes as it’s coming off the roll, but there’s more to this everyday material than you ever imagined! Using the humble product known as packing tape, the Science Center and designer/artist Eric Lennartson are building a two-level, 1,300-square-foot, all-ages playground entirely out of packing tape wrapped around a metal frame – a TapeScape! Lennartson harnesses the tensile strength of tape – or its ability to stretch under stress – to design unique, multisensory installations strong enough for kids and adults to climb on and explore. This special temporary exhibition is included with general admission, and does require guests to wear socks. Surrounding the TapeScape structure itself will be multiple hands-on exhibits exploring “Sticky Science” from adhesives to polymers and even examples of adhesion in nature. The exploration of tape includes opportunities to examine tape artifacts from local manufacturer ShurTech, including clothes made for their annual Duck Tape Fashion Show, and see colorful sticky note murals. A “TotScape” area will provide our youngest guests a play-place of their own, complete with their own tape structure, bristle blocks building area and a “felt to flannel” wall that will show that adhesion isn’t always “sticky”!

Event Schedule:

May 4, 2018 – September 3, 2018

  • Sun Aug 19, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Aug 20, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 21, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 22, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 23, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 24, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 25, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 26, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Aug 27, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 28, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 29, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 30, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 31, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 1, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 2, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Sep 3, 10:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Science


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Family Friendly

Search for More Events

About Arts in Ohio

ArtsinOhio.com is your one-stop resource for arts, festivals and cultural events throughout the Buckeye State. And, even better, it’s free!

Special Offers & Updates from Arts in Ohio and Supporting Partners