Partners

Partners
  • The Black Panther: Celebrating 50+ Years of Black Superheroes

    April 20, 2018 – August 3, 2018

Presented by:
King Arts Complex
About the Event:

In 1966, Black Panther, the first black superhero appeared in the Marvel Comic Books. Virtually no black heroes were created before him, and none with actual superpowers. During this exhibition, we pay homage to the black comic book characters for the past 50 years. Columbus artist Bryan Moss co-curated the exhibition with King Arts Complex Cultural Arts Director Lyn Logan-Grimes. Other artists featured include Annie Burley, Hakim Callwood, Victor Dandridge, Sophie Harpo, Kaycee Nwakudu, Alissa Sallah, Ronald Wimberly, Okelle Lee, Scott Woods, Ketura Bobo, Gabby Metzler, Raeghan Barron, Steyven Curry, Jr. and more.“Celebrating 50+ Years of Black Superheroes” opens with a reception Thursday, April 19, 6-8 p.m. and will remain on view through August 4 in the Elijah Pierce Gallery.

Event Schedule:

April 20, 2018 – August 3, 2018

  • Fri Jul 20, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Jul 23, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 24, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 25, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 26, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 27, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Mon Jul 30, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 31, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 1, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 2, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 3, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free

You May Also Like

Search for More Events

About Arts in Ohio

ArtsinOhio.com is your one-stop resource for arts, festivals and cultural events throughout the Buckeye State. And, even better, it’s free!

Special Offers & Updates from Arts in Ohio and Supporting Partners