Partners

Partners
  • The Fabric of India

    October 19, 2018 – January 6, 2019

Presented by:
Cincinnati Art Museum
About the Event:

Organized by the prestigious Victoria and Albert Museum in London, this exhibition will fully explore the dynamic and multifaceted world of handmade textiles from India. The exhibition showcases the finest examples from the V&A's world-renowned collection together with masterpieces from international partners, leading designers, and pieces from the Cincinnati Art Museum's own outstanding permanent collection. Visitors will have the opportunity to explore a stunning range of historic dress, heirloom fabrics, and cutting-edge fashion.India's handmade textiles are embedded in every aspect of its identity and the history of these fabrics date back at least 6,000 years. The oldest surviving cotton threads from around 4000 BCE were exported from India. Dyed textiles from the region are documented as far back as 2500 BCE. Textiles are so central to India's identity that in ancient Greece and Babylon the very name 'India' was shorthand for 'cotton'.The six thematic sections will explore courtly splendor that was proclaimed by sumptuous fabrics while religious worship found expression through finely crafted sacred cloths. Centuries of global trade shaped by the export of Indian textiles exemplify the robust aesthetic exchange engaged in by artisans who reflected the culture of their clients in their work. India's celebrated textiles survived the threat of industrialization and were used to unite India as a symbol of power and protest in the quest for independence in the early twentieth century. Today, Indian designers are adapting traditional techniques to create exciting new fashion, art and design for a global audience giving India's textile history a new relevance in the modern world.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

October 19, 2018 – January 6, 2019

  • Sun Dec 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 12, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 13, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 19, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 20, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 22, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 27, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 29, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 3, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 5, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition

Search for More Events
ents