Partners

Partners
  • Opening Doors: Calling Central Ohio Home

    March 5, 2019 – June 7, 2019

Presented by:
Dublin Arts Council
About the Event:

Opening Doors: Calling Central Ohio Home on view March 5 – June 7, 2019 opening reception Tuesday, March 5, 6 to 8 p.m. Dublin Arts Council, 7125 Riverside Dr., Dublin, Ohio (free)Opening Doors: Calling Central Ohio Home is a group exhibition by New Americans who delve into concepts of identity through their artwork. Featured artists include Iraqi-born photographer/videographer Bilal Alabbood with his project “From Baghdad to Dublin”; and Somali photographer Faduma Hasan, who explores the impact of the hijab as a visual identity trigger.  The exhibition, which is curated by Columbus visual ethnographer Tariq Tarey, will be on view in the Dublin Arts Council (DAC) gallery, 7125 Riverside Dr., in Dublin from March 5 through June 7, 2019. The exhibition opens with a public reception for the visual artists and a West African Griot performance on Tuesday, March 5 from 6 to 8 p.m. Additional performances featuring Iraqi, Somali and Nepalese cultural traditions will take place at Dublin Arts Council on April 9 and May 14 from 6 to 8 p.m. The opening reception, the exhibition and performances are free of charge.  Gallery hours are Tuesday, 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Wednesday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; and Saturday 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Details can be found at www.dublinarts.org or by calling 614.889.7444. 

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

March 5, 2019 – June 7, 2019

  • Fri May 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 25, 11:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Tue May 28, 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
  • Wed May 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 1, 11:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 4, 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Photography

Visual Arts

International

Cultural


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free, Family Friendly, Multicultural

Search for More Events