Partners

Partners
  • Art Academy of Cincinnati at 150: A Celebration in Drawings and Prints

    February 1, 2019 – April 28, 2019

Presented by:
Cincinnati Art Museum
About the Event:

The Cincinnati Art Museum celebrates 150 years of creativity with this exhibition of works on paper by alumni and faculty of the Art Academy of Cincinnati (AAC). Selected from the museum's collections, more than 90 masterful drawings and prints reflect the intrinsic connections between the museum and this esteemed art school. The Art Academy of Cincinnati at 150: A Celebration in Drawings and Prints spans the AAC's early years in the 19th century as the McMicken School of Design to the present day. The exhibition presents an array of subjects and approaches to art-making featuring academic figure studies, still life, portraiture, landscape and abstraction. Frank Duveneck, Elizabeth Nourse, Chaley Harper and Tom Wesslemann are just a few of the widely recognized artists associated with the AAC. The museum's ongoing commitment to collecting the work of living Cincinnati artists is reflected in examples by Constance McClure, John Ruthven, Petah Coyne, Mark Fox and othes.Once unified under a single administration, and for many years right next door, the museum and academy have intertwined histories. Throughout the years, the museum's collections have provided inspiration and stimulated dialogue for the AAC's students and instructors. Visit the permanent collection galleries to see paintings, sculpture and decorate arts by artists educated or employed in the academy's vital classrooms.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

February 1, 2019 – April 28, 2019

  • Sun Mar 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 28, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 29, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 31, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 3, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 4, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 5, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 11, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 12, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 18, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 19, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 25, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free, Family Friendly, Multicultural

Search for More Events