Partners

Partners
  • Color and Comfort: Swedish Modern Design

    March 12, 2019 – February 9, 2020

About the Event:

Iconic work by Josef Frank is shown together with work by artisans such as Viola Gråsten, sisters Gocken and Lisbet Jobs, Stig Lindberg, Sven Markelius, and Elizabeth Ulrick in an exhibition featuring themes of Nature and Pattern, Color and Contrast, Nostalgia for the Past, and Finding Modernity. This dynamic installation explores the idea of comfort and affordability in the modern Swedish home both before and after World War II. The introduction of bold, colorful patterning during the 1920s, the national nostalgia for Swedish cultural heritage during the 1930s, and the sparse lines of abstraction in the 1950s and ’60s come together to reveal a particularly Swedish sensibility in modern design—one that has often been used to define a broader modern Scandinavian style. A project developed by graduate students in art history and museum studies at Case Western Reserve University, this exhibition features new research into this fascinating world of organic design to delight the eye and define mid-century modern for a new generation.   Supporting Sponsor: Mrs. David Seidenfeld  

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

March 12, 2019 – February 9, 2020

  • Wed Jun 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 21, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 28, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 31, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 2, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 7, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 9, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 14, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 16, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 21, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 23, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 28, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 30, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 4, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 11, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 18, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 25, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 2, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 4, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 9, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 11, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 16, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 18, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 23, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 25, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 30, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 4, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 11, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 18, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 25, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 31, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 7, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Visual Arts

World/Cultural

History/Heritage

International

Cultural


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free, Family Friendly

Search for More Events