Partners

Partners
  • Shinto: Discovery of the Divine in Japanese Art

    April 9, 2019 – June 12, 2019

Presented by:
The Cleveland Museum of Art

Tickets: $0

Register Here

About the Event:

The veneration of deities called kami has been a central feature of Japanese culture for many centuries and the inspiration for a wide range of Japanese visual art. Most recently, kami veneration falls under the auspices of a diverse body of rites known as Shinto, or the “Way of the Gods.” The first exploration devoted to Shinto art from collections in both the United States and Japan, this exhibition introduces works exemplifying kami worship from the Heian period (794–1185) through the Edo period (1615–1868). The exhibition and its accompanying catalogue take a thematic approach to understanding the artworks created to celebrate the world of kami. From costumes worn in dances and theatrical performances at shrines to paintings of medieval pilgrimage routes and images of kami and Buddhist deities, the exhibition is an expression of the everyday engagement of people with divinities in their midst. Including about 125 works of art in two rotations, it features treasures from Japanese shrines and temples, and a significant number of works designated as Important Cultural Properties by the Japanese government. Because of the sensitivity of the objects in this exhibition, midway through the exhibitions a significant number of works of art will be replaced. Many of the works in this exhibition are made of organic materials such as silk, paper, wood and lacquer which are sensitive to light and have structural fragility. To balance our frequency of access to them with their long-term preservation, they can only be on view for a limited time. For this reason, works designated as Important Cultural Properties by the Japanese government have specific requirements that limit public display for only a few weeks in any given year.  

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

April 9, 2019 – June 12, 2019

  • Sat Apr 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 31, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 7, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Visual Arts

World/Cultural

Film

History/Heritage

International

Cultural


Type

Artist Talk


This event is

Free, Family Friendly

Search for More Events