Partners

Partners
  • Drawing Blood: Comics and Medicine

    April 20, 2019 – October 20, 2019

About the Event:

This exhibit traces the history of comics’ obsession with medicine from the 18th century to today. The earliest cartoonists frequently satirized a medical practice dominated by bloodletting, purging, and other largely ineffective treatments. Over the next two centuries, modern medicine would go through remarkable transformations. Comics were there for the good and the bad, helping to rebrand the doctor from quack to hero, but also critiquing a medical system that often privileged profits over patients. Drawing Blood highlights the sometimes caustic eye of cartoonists as they consider doctors, patients, illness, and treatment in the rapidly changing world of medicine—one which continues to present new possibilities and new challenges. The exhibit features work by a wide array of creators, from pioneers of cartooning like James Gillray, William Hogarth, Thomas Nast, and Frederick Opper to contemporary greats like Richard Thompson, Carol Tyler, John Porcellino, Alison Bechdel, and Julia Wertz.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

April 20, 2019 – October 20, 2019

  • Sat Sep 21, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 22, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Sep 23, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 24, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 25, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 26, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 27, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 28, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 29, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Sep 30, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 1, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 2, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 3, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 4, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 5, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 6, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Oct 7, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 8, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 9, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 10, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 11, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 12, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 13, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Oct 14, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 15, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 16, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 17, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 18, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 19, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 20, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Graphic Arts

Visual Arts

Literary Arts

History/Heritage

Cultural


Type

Exhibition

Search for More Events