Partners

Partners
  • Food For Thought

    May 3, 2019 – July 21, 2019

Presented by:
Canton Museum of Art
About the Event:

Canton Museum of Art is proud to present Food for Thought as part of Project Eat! Project Eat! came from the creative mind of McKinley Museum's curator, Kim Kenney, who thought of the idea and partnered with many local organizations. As a result, Project Eat! is a year-long celebration of all things food in Stark County, Ohio. Project Eat! highlights the many great existing programs doing work in our community, while showcasing exciting new food-related events created throughout the Stark County area in 2019.  As one part of a robust list of events for Project Eat!, Canton Museum of Art's Food for Thought uses pieces from our museum's permanent collection to explore food through objects, people, and places. These artworks examine what we eat, how we eat it, and who we eat with, creating an intimate look at the role food plays in American art and culture. From still lifes and ceramics to fishermen and families, the representation of food in American art is a reflection of our unique values and histories. The pieces in this exhibit reflect a rich history of artistic, agricultural, and culinary traditions that have shaped how we engage with food today. So come feast your eyes on these works, with pieces by artists such as Salvador Dali, Romare Bearden, Thomas Hart Benton, Lowell Tolstedt, Gary T. Erbe (pictured above), Clyde Singer, Toshiko Takaezu, and more. On view May 3, 2019 - July 21, 2019. Opening Reception, free to the public, May 3, 2019 from 5PM - 8PM.Partners for Project Eat! include: William McKinley Presidential Library & Museum, Massillon Museum, National First Ladies' Library, Canton Symphony Orchestra, Bender's Tavern, Walsh University, Kent State University at Stark, StarkFresh, Canton Food Tours, Carpe Diem Coffee Shop, SHY Cellars, Palace Theater and more. 

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

May 3, 2019 – July 21, 2019

  • Fri May 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri May 3, 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM Reception
  • Sat May 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun May 5, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue May 7, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed May 8, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu May 9, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri May 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat May 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun May 12, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue May 14, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed May 15, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu May 16, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri May 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat May 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun May 19, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue May 21, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed May 22, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu May 23, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri May 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat May 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun May 26, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue May 28, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed May 29, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu May 30, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri May 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Jun 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Jun 2, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Jun 4, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Jun 5, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Jun 6, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Jun 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Jun 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Jun 9, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Jun 11, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Jun 12, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Jun 13, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Jun 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Jun 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Jun 16, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Jun 18, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Jun 19, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Jun 20, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Jun 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Jun 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Jun 23, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Jun 25, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Jun 26, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Jun 27, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Jun 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Jun 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Jun 30, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Jul 2, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Jul 3, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Jul 4, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Jul 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Jul 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Jul 7, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Jul 9, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Jul 10, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Jul 11, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Jul 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Jul 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Jul 14, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Jul 16, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Jul 17, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Jul 18, 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Jul 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Jul 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Jul 21, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Visual Arts

Culinary


Types

Reception, Exhibition

Search for More Events