Partners

Partners
  • Barbara Hammer: In this Body

    June 1, 2019 – August 11, 2019

Presented by:
Wexner Center for the Arts

Tickets: $6 - $8

Get Tickets

Free for members, college students (with valid ID), patrons under 18, active military and veterans $8 general public $6 senior citizens (65

About the Event:

Best known for her pioneering films that offer daring depictions of lesbian life and sexuality, Barbara Hammer (1939–2019) created a striking body of work—including photographs, collages, sculptures, and installations—in her more than 50-year career as an artist. Organized by the Wex, Barbara Hammer: In This Body captures the full scope of her rich, interdisciplinary practice with a specific focus on the artist’s works dealing with illness, aging, and mortality. The exhibition explores Hammer’s sustained interest in the female body (and her unflinchingly honest documentation of her own) while foregrounding the tactile nature of her art and her intrepid spirit of experimentation. The centerpiece of the new exhibition is Evidentiary Bodies, an immersive, three-channel video installation that draws imagery from previous works to poignantly synthesize the artist’s life in film and her life with cancer. The project was supported by a multiyear Wexner Center Artist Residency Award. Cellist and architect N. Scott Johnson, who collaborated with Hammer on the work’s score, accompanies the piece live at the May 31 Summer Exhibitions Preview. Filled with experiential and interactive media, including X-rays, clinical breast models, and large-scale photographic scrolls, the exhibition as a whole foregrounds the physical relationships inscribed in Hammer’s work—both her process of art-making and the participatory nature of viewing—and creates a space where the body can be considered both individually and collectively. The culmination of a decades-long relationship between the artist and the Wex, which includes the completion of several films with the support of the center’s Film/Video Studio, Barbara Hammer: In This Body is presented alongside a series of complementary talks and screenings (see below). The programs will continue later in 2019 with the screening of collaborative projects featuring four noted filmmakers—Lynne Sachs, Deborah Stratman, Mark Street, and Dan Veltri—with a related symposium to follow in fall. "It has been my life’s work to break taboos and make the invisible visible…I want to show illness in a new way that doesn’t hide it."

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

June 1, 2019 – August 11, 2019

  • Tue Jun 25, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 26, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 27, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 28, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 29, 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 30, 12:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 2, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 3, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 4, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 5, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 6, 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 7, 12:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 9, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 10, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 11, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 12, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 13, 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 14, 12:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 16, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 17, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 18, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 19, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 20, 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 21, 12:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 23, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 24, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 25, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 26, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 27, 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 28, 12:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 30, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 31, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 1, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 2, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 3, 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 4, 12:00 PM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 6, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 7, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 8, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 9, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 10, 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 11, 12:00 PM – 4:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Visual Arts

Theater/Performance


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Funded by GCAC, Funded by OAC

Search for More Events