Partners

Partners
  • L’Affichomania: The Passion for French Posters

    June 8, 2019 – September 15, 2019

Presented by:
Taft Museum of Art
About the Event:

Meant to stop people in their tracks with bold colors and seductive imagery, French advertising posters of the turn of the 20th century ultimately became highly collectible works of art. L’Affichomania: The Passion for French Posters presents the work of five innovative artists: Jules Chéret, Eugène Grasset, Théophile-Alexandre Steinlen, Alphonse Mucha, and Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec. The relaxed printing and posting guidelines granted in 1881 by the Freedom of the Press Law, along with new developments in commercial printing, resulted in tens of thousands of posters being plastered in the streets of Paris every year.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

June 8, 2019 – September 15, 2019

  • Wed Aug 21, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 22, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 23, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 28, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 29, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 30, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 31, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 4, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 5, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 6, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 11, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 12, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 13, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition

Search for More Events