Partners

Partners
  • In a New Light: Alice Schille and the American Watercolor Movement

    June 14, 2019 – September 29, 2019

Presented by:
Columbus Museum of Art
About the Event:

More than 50 works, many of which have not been exhibited for decades, comprise In a New Light: Alice Schille and the American Watercolor Movement. Organized by CMA and Guest Curators Jim Keny and Tara Keny, this exhibition honors the Columbus native’s 150th birthday and her contribution to the American watercolor movement, offering new critical insights on this remarkable artist. In addition, the illuminating exhibition explores Schille’s travels, critical reception, support of the women’s suffrage movement, and technical virtuosity in the watercolor medium.One of the most celebrated American watercolorists of the 20th century, Schille earned acclaim from critics and fellow artists across the United States and Europe at a time when becoming an acknowledged professional artist was a particularly challenging path for women. Her subjects were often beach and harbor scenes, landscapes and city marketplaces, painted in pure-wash watercolor with modern compositions.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

June 14, 2019 – September 29, 2019

  • Sun Jul 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 25, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Mixed Media

Painting

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition

Nearby Public Artwork

You May Also Like

Search for More Events