Partners

Partners
  • RODIN: MUSES, SIRENS, LOVERS Selections From The Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Collections

    July 12, 2019 – December 8, 2019

Presented by:
Columbus Museum of Art
About the Event:

In the 1860s, when Auguste Rodin began making sculpture, art was deeply rooted in the past and depicted stories from religion, history, and myth. At the peak of his career in the 1890s, Rodin had transformed sculpture into something that elicited emotions and imaginations. His work told stories that were internal and conceptual, and that were open to interpretation. By the time Rodin died in 1917 he had, through prodigious talent and a remarkable volume of work, revolutionized sculpture. Today his work is a crucial link between traditional and modern art.RODIN: MUSES, SIRENS, LOVERS explores the artist’s fascination with and representation of women.The exhibition showcases some 40 bronzes of women as models, love interests, art collectors and artistic inspiration. These works tell the story of the importance of Rodin’s sculpture to modern art and encapsulate the innovations that broke with centuries of tradition to forge a path to today. The exhibition also includes special loans from the Cantors and the Cantor Foundation, the Brooklyn Museum, the Cantor Center for Visual Arts at Stanford University, The Cedar Rapids Museum of Art, and the North Carolina Museum of Art.This exhibition has been organized and made possible by the Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Foundation.[Image: Auguste Rodin, Three Faunesses, modeled before 1896; Musée Rodin cast, cast number unknown, 1959. Bronze; Georges Rudier Foundry. Lent by the Iris & B. Gerald Cantor Foundation]

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

July 12, 2019 – December 8, 2019

  • Sat Aug 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 31, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 7, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 14, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 21, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 28, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Ceramics

Installation

Mixed Media

Visual Arts

Sculpture


Type

Exhibition

Nearby Public Artwork

You May Also Like

Search for More Events