Partners

Partners
  • Joe Vitone: Family Records

    August 8, 2019 – October 27, 2019

Presented by:
Akron Art Museum
About the Event:

“My intent is the way I’m seeing something significant in them. When I’m photographing the folks around Akron, I very much consider it an homage to them."—Joe Vitone, interviewed by Dan Polletta for WCPN/ideastream Joe Vitone: Family Records is an ongoing series of portraits of photographer Joe Vitone’s relatives living in and around Akron, Ohio. Begun in 1998, this body of work documents evolving interpersonal connections between parents and children, siblings, spouses, cousins and other relations within working class communities of the Rust Belt region. Shot each summer when the artist—now based in Austin, Texas—travels back to Ohio, this series features scenes from festivities such as birthday parties and weddings as well as intimate portraits set outside homes and workplaces. Touched by celebrations and struggles including marriage, divorce, addiction, new homes, unemployment, new jobs and babies, the lives of Vitone’s relatives reflect experiences common to families across the United States. Vitone prints his images, which he captures using 8 x 10-inch and 4 x 5-inch view cameras, in both black and white and color. Featuring 55 works photographed in Akron proper, as well as in surrounding communities including Barberton, Stow and Marshallville, Family Records marks the first time a selection from this series has been exhibited in Northeast Ohio.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

August 8, 2019 – October 27, 2019

  • Sat Aug 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 29, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 31, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 3, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 5, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 12, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 19, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 22, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 26, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 29, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 3, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 5, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 10, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 12, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 17, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 19, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 22, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 24, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Photography

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Funded by OAC

Nearby Public Artwork

You May Also Like

Search for More Events