Partners

Partners
  • A Mile and a Half of Lines: The Art of James Thurber

    August 24, 2019 – March 15, 2020

Presented by:
Columbus Museum of Art
About the Event:

Celebrating the 125th anniversary of James Thurber’s birth, A Mile and a Half of Lines showcases the drawings of James Thurber, Columbus’ native son and one of America’s best-known 20th-century writers. His depictions changed the nature of cartooning as he drew spontaneously with child-like abandon. The drawing often came first and then the caption. The exhibition will include his work for The New Yorker, his illustrations for his own and others’ books, ad campaigns, and children’s illustration. After a childhood accident in which he lost sight in one eye, the eyesight in his other eye deteriorated as well. The exhibition includes examples of this later work and the magnifying gadget that allowed him to continue working. Sections of the exhibition will include drawings depicting: Signs of the Times (prohibition, the Great Depression, and the Lost Generation); The Bestiary in Me (the animal kingdom); and Columbustown (including OSU football).

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

August 24, 2019 – March 15, 2020

  • Tue Oct 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 31, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 7, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 14, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 21, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 28, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 2, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 9, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 16, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 23, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 30, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Graphic Arts

Mixed Media

Visual Arts

Literary Arts

Comics/Cartooning


Type

Exhibition

Nearby Public Artwork

You May Also Like

Search for More Events