Partners

Partners
  • Tiffany in Bloom: Stained Glass Lamps of Louis Comfort Tiffany

    October 21, 2019 – June 14, 2020

About the Event:

Focusing on Louis Comfort Tiffany’s passion for stained glass as a way to bring Nature’s splendid color into the home, this exhibition explores Tiffany’s vivid designs in relation to emerging artistic and craft movements at the turn of the 20th century. Through the dynamic, illuminated display of 20 of the designer’s finest stained glass table and floor lamps and featuring the iconic Hinds House stained glass window, Tiffany in Bloom introduces visitors to the magic that Tiffany created with thousands of shards of glass and the “newfangled” power of electric light. Period photographs and accounts of his artisans also provide a glimpse into Tiffany’s shop and studio. His method of design, production, and marketing; his reliance on women designers, such as Ohio native Clara Driscoll; and his alliances with both his father’s firm (Tiffany & Co.) and his European counterpart Siegfried Bing (Maison de l’Art Nouveau) lift the curtain on Tiffany’s special brand of artistic creation and success. Rare masterworks such as the Wisteria, Peacock, Bamboo, and Peony lamps highlight important thematic groups that focus on Tiffany’s many stylistic influences, from Asian to Art Nouveau. The stained glass techniques used by Tiffany’s artisans reveal the firm’s unparalleled standard of quality and the designer’s love for the infinite possibilities of iridescence, texture, and color in manipulating light. Most of the works in this exhibition recently joined the museum’s collection through the generous bequest of Charles Maurer, a Cleveland industrialist and renowned collector of works by Louis Comfort Tiffany. Tiffany in Bloom celebrates this extraordinary gift by providing an unprecedented opportunity to view so many of Tiffany’s great lamps together in a veritable bouquet of splendor.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

October 21, 2019 – June 14, 2020

  • Tue Nov 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 4, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 11, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 18, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 31, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 7, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 14, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 21, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 28, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 4, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 11, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 18, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 25, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 3, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 10, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Glass

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free, Family Friendly

Nearby Public Artwork

You May Also Like

Search for More Events