Partners

Partners
  • Anila Quayyum Agha: Between Light and Shadow

    October 24, 2019 – February 9, 2020

Presented by:
Toledo Museum of Art

Tickets: $0 - $12

Get Tickets

About the Event:

The Toledo Museum of Art presents three gallery-sized installations by Pakistani-American artist Anila Quayyum Agha that create awe-inspiring spaces from intricate patterns of light and shadow, evoking the sacred, while also raising questions of exclusion and belonging. Taking the form of a small house, This is Not a Refuge! 2 provokes conversation about the loss of family and land due to displacement and resettlement. Based on the octahedron and tetrahedron geometric shapes, The Greys in Between is inspired by Islamic architectural motifs found in communal spaces like mosques and historic sites. Agha, who was born in Lahore, Pakistan, won top honors at ArtPrize 2014, the international art competition held in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Her ArtPrize entry, Intersections, is the first work to capture both the Public and Juried Grand Prizes and will complete the presentation of Agha’s work in Toledo.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

October 24, 2019 – February 9, 2020

  • Sat Jan 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 26, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 28, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 29, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 30, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 31, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 2, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 4, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 5, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 7, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 9, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Mixed Media

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free, Funded by OAC

Search for More Events