Partners

Partners
  • Vhils

    February 21, 2020 – July 6, 2020

Presented by:
Contemporary Arts Center
About the Event:

Vhils is renowned for his unusual technique of removing the surface layers of urban walls to create riveting portraits and imagery. Using construction tools like hammers, chisels and pneumatic drills, the artist exposes and confronts architectural surfaces as they narrate the history of a city itself. Etching acid and bleach onto urban walls, Vhils sculpts pieces with texture, dimension and layers. His subject is almost always the same: the faces of anonymous city residents. Part artist, stone mason and archeologist, he gives careful attention to common people inhabiting their cities. Vhils’ walls serve as both canvas and historical context for themes of identity, the passage of time and interdependence between people and environments. The artist also works in other diverse media including screen prints, wood, metal, recycled paper and more.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

February 21, 2020 – July 6, 2020

  • Thu Feb 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 28, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 29, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 1, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 2, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 4, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 7, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 8, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 9, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 11, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 14, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 15, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 16, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 18, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 21, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 22, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 23, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 25, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 28, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 29, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Mar 30, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 2, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 4, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 5, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Apr 6, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 9, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 11, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 12, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Apr 13, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 16, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 18, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 19, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Apr 20, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 23, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 25, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 26, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Apr 27, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 30, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri May 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 2, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun May 3, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon May 4, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed May 6, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 7, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri May 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 9, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun May 10, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon May 11, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed May 13, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 14, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri May 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 16, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun May 17, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon May 18, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed May 20, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 21, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri May 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 23, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun May 24, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon May 25, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed May 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 28, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri May 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 30, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun May 31, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jun 1, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 4, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 6, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 7, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jun 8, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 11, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 13, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 14, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jun 15, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 18, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 20, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 21, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jun 22, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 25, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 27, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 28, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jun 29, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 2, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 4, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 5, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jul 6, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Mixed Media

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free

Nearby Public Artwork

You May Also Like

Search for More Events