Partners

Partners
  • RetroRenown Watercolorist Hal Scroggy

    September 5, 2020 – October 18, 2020

Presented by:
Fiber Cafe
About the Event:

The Hal Scroggy painting and drawing selection is being supervised by Akron artist Beth Becker. Previously unseen paintings, value sketches, drawings, and watercolor experiments are coming forward, many of which will be included in Hal's retrospective exhibit at Peninsula Art Academy. The exhibit runs September 5th through October 18th.   Hal Scroggy (1921-2018) is known as one of Ohio’s most accomplished watercolor painters. His work has been exhibited nationwide in galleries and shows, and featured in books and advertising. Hal was discovered by artist Roy Wilhelm while still in grade school. He studied with Wilhelm, who helped Hal get accepted to Cleveland Institute of Art. After serving in WWII, he worked in illustration, television, film and as a photographer and art director at B.F. Goodrich. Hal chose to retire early to pursue art full time. He began serious impressionistic watercolor painting. His philosophy was “I paint adjectives rather than nouns”. He regularly traveled to naturalistic locations in the US and abroad for subject matter, and developed a widely respected, immediately recognizable art style. He is a founding member of Ohio Watercolor Society, and was named a signature member of the American Watercolor Society. He also was an early member of Whiskey Painters of America. In 2018, Hal received the J. Brower Lifetime Achievement Award from the Ohio Watercolor Society.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

September 5, 2020 – October 18, 2020

  • Sat Sep 5, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 12, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 19, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 3, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Painting

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free

You May Also Like

Search for More Events