African Master Carvers: Known and Famous

Presented by The Cleveland Museum of Art

Venue: The Cleveland Museum of Art

City: Cleveland

African Master Carvers: Known and Famous Sunday, March 26, 2017 through Sunday, July 16, 2017 Julia and Larry Pollock Focus Gallery | Gallery 010 African Master Carvers: Known and Famous addresses the false assumption that all African artists who created tradition-based art were anonymous, even though few historical artists south of the Sahara are known by name, and biographical data about their training and life is scarce. Through fifteen stellar examples from different cultural regions in West, Central, and Southern Africa, the exhibition explores the lives and works of a select group of master carvers who enjoyed recognition and sometimes even fame during their lifetime. Also included are the artists' biographies and, when available, their portrait photographs.
  • June 20, 2017 – July 16, 2017
  • Wed Jun 21 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 22 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 23 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 24 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 25 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 27 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 28 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 29 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 30 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 01 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 02 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 04 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 05 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 06 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 07 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 08 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 09 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 11 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 12 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 13 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 14 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 15 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 16 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Cincinnati USA Experience Columbus Ohio Arts Council Destination Toledo Tourism Ohio Positively Cleveland Ohio Magazine Greater Columbus Arts Council