Glorious Splendor: Treasures of Early Christian Art

Presented by Toledo Museum of Art

Venue: Toledo Museum of Art

City: Toledo

Christian art borrowed heavily from non-Christian traditions in terms of its techniques, media, style and iconography. Glorious Splendor traces these continuities through the most remarkable objects of the period: precious stones, metals and jewelry. The exhibition will feature some 30 masterpieces of Late Roman art, most of which have never been exhibited before in a museum. Drawing on private collections and TMA’s holdings, this exhibition will captivate viewers with its glittering gold and silver, stunning oversize carved garnets and rubies and dazzling rings and necklaces. Glorious Splendor: Treasures of Early Christian Art is supported in part by Taylor Cadillac, Holy Trinity Greek Orthodox Cathedral, the TMA Ambassadors, Mary Lynch Jarrell and Paul A. Jarrell, James and Gregory Demirjian, Sotheby’s, Harold Jaffe Jewlers and the OAC, with additional support from the 2017 exhibition program sponsor ProMedica.
  • November 18, 2017 – February 18, 2018
  • Sat Nov 18 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 19 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Nov 20 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 21 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 22 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 23 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 24 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 25 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 26 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Nov 27 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Nov 28 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 29 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 30 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 01 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 02 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 03 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Dec 04 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 05 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 06 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 07 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 08 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 09 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 10 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Dec 11 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 12 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 13 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 14 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 15 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 16 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 17 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Dec 18 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 19 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 20 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 21 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 22 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 23 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 24 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Dec 25 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Dec 26 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 27 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 28 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 29 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 30 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 31 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jan 01 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 02 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 03 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 04 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 05 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 06 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 07 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jan 08 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 09 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 10 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 11 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 12 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 13 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 14 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jan 15 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 16 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 17 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 18 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 19 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 20 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 21 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jan 22 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 23 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 24 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 25 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 26 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 27 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 28 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Jan 29 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Jan 30 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 31 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 01 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 02 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 03 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 04 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Feb 05 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 06 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 07 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 08 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 09 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 10 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 11 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Mon Feb 12 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Tue Feb 13 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Feb 14 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Feb 15 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Feb 16 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Feb 17 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sun Feb 18 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Cincinnati USA Experience Columbus Ohio Arts Council Destination Toledo Tourism Ohio Positively Cleveland Ohio Magazine Greater Columbus Arts Council