Elegant Geometry: British and American Mosaic Patchwork Quilts

Presented by Taft Museum of Art

Venue: Taft Museum of Art

City: Cincinnati

On view October 21, 2017–January 21, 2018 

For nearly 300 years, quilt makers have created a dazzling range of designs using the versatile mosaic patchwork technique. The 19 quilts in Elegant Geometry highlight the skill, intelligence, and artistry of the women who practiced mosaic patchwork quilting during its early years. Mosaic quilters wrapped and sewed cloth around identically sized, geometrically shaped paper pieces. They then stitched the tiny units together into intricate patterns. The earliest quilt in the exhibition originated in 18th-century England. British colonists brought the technique to the New World, where American women embraced it. American quilts in Elegant Geometry date through the 19th century and were made by women from Eastern and Midwestern states including Kentucky and Ohio.

Click here for more information. 

  • October 30, 2017 – January 21, 2018
  • Fri Nov 24 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 25 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 26 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 29 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 30 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 01 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 02 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 03 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 06 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 07 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 08 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 09 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 10 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 13 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 14 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 15 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 16 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 17 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 20 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 21 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 22 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 23 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 24 11:00 AM – 3:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 27 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 28 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 29 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 30 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 03 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 04 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 05 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 06 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 07 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 10 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 11 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 12 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 13 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 14 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jan 17 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Thu Jan 18 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Fri Jan 19 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Sat Jan 20 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jan 21 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Cincinnati USA Experience Columbus Ohio Arts Council Destination Toledo Tourism Ohio Positively Cleveland Ohio Magazine Greater Columbus Arts Council