Partners

Partners
  • Toby's Prize: Sondra Perry

    April 27, 2019 – August 11, 2019

About the Event:

A. Will Brown, Assistant Curator Toby Devan Lewis Gallery As the inaugural recipient of Toby’s Prize—a biennial award made possible by Toby Devan Lewis, philanthropist and a founding board member of moCa Cleveland—Sondra Perry (1986, Perth Amboy, NJ) will have her first solo exhibition in a United States museum at moCa Cleveland in the spring of 2019. An emerging and already influential voice in contemporary art, Sondra Perry’s work, which takes shape across many forms, in the artist's words revolves around: “how blackness shifts, morphs, and embodies technology to combat oppression and surveillance throughout the diaspora.” Through the use of digital tools, software, images and videos found online, and post-production technical motifs, the artist reflects on black American experience and the use of digital technology as an expression of power and a tool for building collectivity. Perry’s exhibition will include a new video as well as a new large-scale sculptural workstation installation—a unique and ongoing form she has explored in her practice. These new works will focus on the stresses and anxieties felt by African Americans in workplaces and acknowledge some of the defense mechanisms by which minority workers protect themselves. This, and all forthcoming Toby’s Prize exhibitions, will include a body of new work made for presentation at moCa Cleveland.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

April 27, 2019 – August 11, 2019

  • Sun Apr 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 30, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed May 1, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu May 2, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri May 3, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 5, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 7, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed May 8, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu May 9, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri May 10, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 12, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 14, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed May 15, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu May 16, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri May 17, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 19, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 21, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed May 22, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu May 23, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri May 24, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 28, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed May 29, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu May 30, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri May 31, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 4, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 5, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 6, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 7, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 11, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 12, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 13, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 14, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 18, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 19, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 20, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 21, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 22, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jun 25, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jun 26, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 27, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 28, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 29, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jun 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 2, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 3, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 4, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 5, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 9, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 10, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 11, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 12, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 16, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 17, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 18, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 19, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 23, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 24, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 25, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 26, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Jul 30, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 31, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 1, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 2, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 3, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Aug 6, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 7, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 8, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 9, 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Installation

Visual Arts

Sculpture


Type

Exhibition

Search for More Events