Partners

Partners
  • YOU-Topia Virtual Youth Challenge

    May 2, 2020 – July 10, 2020

Presented by:
Summit Artspace
About the Event:

A utopia is defined as an imagined place or state of things in which everything is perfect. We've asked young artists to share their perfect world view in this fun online art show. The challenge is open to youth ages 0-14. Their perfect world can be summer all year long, bright color kaleidoscopes or maybe it’s based off a book or a movie they like or an animal, real, imagined or well-loved. We can't wait to share the submissions!YOU-TOPIA VIRTUAL YOUTH CHALLENGE OPENS MAY 2 The YOU-Topia Virtual Youth Challenge opens online during Virtual Akron Artwalk, May 2, 5:30 p.m., 2020, on our Artwalk and Summit Artspace Facebook pages and Instagram. You can also look there for information before the event. Free access to the exhibit and Artwalk. Winners will be announced on Facebook Live at the 5:30 p.m. unveiling by juror/artist Edith Wadkins of Grove City, Ohio. The show can be accessed here after May 2: YOU-Topia Virtual Youth Challenge. A second YOU-Topia show featuring the work of artists 15 and older is here: YOU-Topia Juried Virtual Art ExhibitionABOUT YOU-TOPIA JUROR EDITH WADKINS Edith Wadkins is a fine artist, theatrical scenic artist and set designer. Her work encompasses pastel and watercolors, faux painting, murals and theater scenery. A current resident of Grove City, Ohio, Edith (Edie) was raised in the small town of Amsterdam, Ohio in the rolling hills of the Appalachian Mountains. She attended the Edison Local School District and graduated in 1998. Then she went to Otterbein College (now Otterbein University) where she obtained her Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Design and Technology. Since she was twelve she has rarely spent a day without negotiating some kind of art media. She has designed and/or painted scenery for over 200 shows. Her work has been seen in almost every Columbus professional theatre and many educational institutions around town. Some recent design highlights include the sets for CATCO productions of Master Class, Sex with Strangers and Fun Home, CATCO is Kids’ production of Anne of Green Gables, Cowgirls Don’t Ride Zebras and Madeline’s Christmas. She has also painted the scenery for many recent Columbus Children’s theatre shows such as James and the Giant Peach and Shrek the Musical. She has received Theatre Roundtable Set Design Awards for Babar and Kabuki Sleeping Beauty. She has done workshops with local pastel portrait artist Sandy Reddig. She also spent two years at Cooley Studios learning to draw and paint in the French atelier curriculum. She has illustrated a book by Linda Lee Greene called Bussy and His Champion Roosters. She has received many ribbons at the Ohio State Fair including a Best in Show Ribbon in Creative Arts in 2011.MORE ABOUT ARTWALK ON MAY 2… Akron Artwalk will be online! You won’t miss a thing through Summit Artspace social media! We know ARTWALK as the downtown arts and cultural ramble will return but in the meantime… We’ll be bringing you the Saturday, May 2, Artwalk online from 5:30 to 7 p.m. via Summit Artspace social media. Artwalk is an art/retail event organized by Summit Artspace the first Saturday of the month. We’ll be showcasing our Summit Artspace artist tenants and featuring them in demos, workshops and interviews. We’ll also be sharing the work of our Artwalk partners, as well as our pop-up vendors who have special offers through the weekend. Two new virtual art shows will be opening. Check our Artwalk and Summit Artspace Facebook pages and Instagram for the event and information.VIRTUAL ARTWALK SCHEDULE, MAY 2 5:30 p.m. – Unveiling of virtual shows YOU-Topia Juried Art Exhibition and YOU-Topia Youth Challenge (links go live at 5:30 p.m., May 2); Juror Edith Wadkins  will announce the winners via Facebook Live 5:45 p.m. – Mini demos/workshops/interviews with artist tenants 6 p.m. – Featuring pop-up artists, promo code “MayArtwalk2020” for discounts through the weekend 6:15 p.m. – Mini demos/workshops/interviews with artist tenants 6:30 p.m. – Featuring Artwalk partners 6:35-7 p.m. – Mini demos/workshops/interviews with artist tenants Artwalk Partners Summit Artspace: Galleries, artist studios and more Zeber-Martell: See the exceptional functional and decorative ceramics by the artists, as well as a large selection of jewelry and much more to delight shoppers! Northside Cellar: Check out what they have in the shop plus Art 4 Artwalk. Bluff Blue Door Gallery: Galleries in this unique setting. sweetmodern.com: Fine vintage mid-century furniture and decor Akron Soul Train: Akron Soul Train is an artist residency village connecting and empowering the community and artists by granting fellowships that provide resources for all creative disciplines to foster a more vibrant downtown Akron. Gallery C: A new location at East 66 Cuyahoga Falls Ave., open for Akron Artwalk See the Summit Artspace event and exhibit calendar. Plan your visit by clicking here. Have questions? Here is our Frequently Asked Questions page.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

May 2, 2020 – July 10, 2020

  • Mon Jun 1, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Tue Jun 2, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Wed Jun 3, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Thu Jun 4, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Fri Jun 5, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sat Jun 6, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sun Jun 7, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Mon Jun 8, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Tue Jun 9, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Wed Jun 10, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Thu Jun 11, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Fri Jun 12, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sat Jun 13, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sun Jun 14, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Mon Jun 15, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Tue Jun 16, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Wed Jun 17, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Thu Jun 18, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Fri Jun 19, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sat Jun 20, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sun Jun 21, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Mon Jun 22, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Tue Jun 23, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Wed Jun 24, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Thu Jun 25, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Fri Jun 26, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sat Jun 27, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sun Jun 28, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Mon Jun 29, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Tue Jun 30, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Wed Jul 1, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Thu Jul 2, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Fri Jul 3, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sat Jul 4, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Sun Jul 5, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Mon Jul 6, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Tue Jul 7, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Wed Jul 8, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Thu Jul 9, 12:00 AM – 11:55 PM
  • Fri Jul 10, 12:00 AM – 5:30 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free, Virtual

Search for More Events