Partners

Partners
  • Beyond Truth: Photography after the Shutter

    March 6, 2019 – May 26, 2019

About the Event:

Just how truthful is photography? Despite the ability to manipulate selfies on our cell phones, many of us cling to the illusion that the medium has an inherent connection to truth. Even if a camera produces an accurate recording of a scene in front of the lens, what changes can be wrought during the transition from captured light to printed image? Beyond Truth explores figurative scenes and portraits in which artists have altered the “truth” through postproduction techniques ranging from composite printing, multiple exposures, and handwork on negatives and prints to digital capture and manipulation. Drawn mostly from the Cleveland Museum of Art’s collection, the exhibition also features works from the Akron Art Museum and the Fred and Laura Ruth Bidwell Collection, including photographs by Kehinde Wiley and Luis González Palma. The CMA debuts thirteen works, seven of which are recent acquisitions. Among those are a 1936 retelling of the Narcissus myth by French photographer Laure Albin Guillot, a regal self-portrait of 2015 by South African artist Zanele Muholi, three works from British duo Anderson & Low’s Manga Dreams series, and a “portrait” by Trevor Paglen that was produced not with a camera but by an Artificial Intelligence.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

March 6, 2019 – May 26, 2019

  • Thu Mar 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Mar 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Mar 27, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Mar 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Mar 29, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Mar 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Mar 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 5, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 12, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 19, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Apr 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 26, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 27, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Apr 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Apr 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 1, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 3, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 8, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 10, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 15, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 17, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue May 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed May 22, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Thu May 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri May 24, 10:00 AM – 9:00 PM
  • Sat May 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun May 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Visual Arts

World/Cultural

Film

History/Heritage

International

Cultural


Type

Artist Talk


This event is

Free, Family Friendly

Search for More Events