Partners

Partners
  • Front Line: Editorial Cartoonists and the First Amendment

    April 20, 2019 – October 20, 2019

About the Event:

What do current debates about social media, trigger warnings, fake news, and libel have to do with the First Amendment and editorial cartoonists? Editorial cartoonists both benefit from and defend First Amendment speech and press protections. Their graphic commentary about current events is a catalyst for political engagement. Cartoonists invite readers to consider the impact of trigger warnings, Wikileaks, libel suits that result in silencing critics, and allegations of fake news. Front Line: Editorial Cartoonists and the First Amendment documents editorial cartooning commentary about free expression in the twentieth century and highlights contemporary work by members of the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists, alongside historical works from the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum’s collections. The exhibit includes work by Pat Oliphant, Art Young, Jen Sorensen, Garry Trudeau, Kate Salley Palmer, Rob Rogers, and more.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

April 20, 2019 – October 20, 2019

  • Sat Sep 21, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 22, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Sep 23, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Sep 24, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 25, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 26, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 27, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 28, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 29, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Sep 30, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 1, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 2, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 3, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 4, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 5, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 6, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Oct 7, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 8, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 9, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 10, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 11, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 12, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 13, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Mon Oct 14, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Tue Oct 15, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 16, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 17, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 18, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 19, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 20, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Categories

Graphic Arts

Visual Arts

Literary Arts

History/Heritage

Cultural


Type

Exhibition

Search for More Events