Partners

Partners
  • In the Company of Friends

    July 1, 2019 – December 29, 2019

Presented by:
The Dayton Art Institute
About the Event:

In China, there was a long tradition of collectors known as scholar-officials. The arts played a central role in the life of scholars as ways to cultivate oneself and helped to create communities of like-minded friends. As social leaders they set examples of what others could aspire to: living a life of thoughtful understanding, beauty, and friendship. In a similar way, Virginia W. Kettering and the Honorable Jefferson Patterson were leaders of the Dayton community who were also collectors of Asian art, and through their generosity these collections formed the basis of the DAI’s extensive collection. As part of the DAI’s 2019 Centennial, this Focus Exhibition explores the contributions of Kettering and Patterson through the lens of the Chinese scholar collector, presenting a variety of artworks that may have been part of a scholar’s life, and raising the broader question of just what it means to collect.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

July 1, 2019 – December 29, 2019

  • Sun Jul 21, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 25, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Jul 28, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Jul 31, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 1, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 3, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 4, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 8, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 11, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 15, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 18, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 22, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Aug 25, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Aug 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 29, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 31, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 1, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 5, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 8, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 12, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 15, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 19, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 22, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Sep 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 26, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Sep 29, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 3, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 5, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 6, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 10, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 12, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 13, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 17, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 19, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 20, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 24, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Oct 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Oct 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Oct 27, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Oct 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Oct 31, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 3, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 7, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 10, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 14, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 17, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 21, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 22, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Nov 24, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Nov 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Nov 28, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Nov 29, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Nov 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 1, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 5, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 8, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 12, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 15, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 19, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 22, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Wed Dec 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Dec 26, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Dec 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Dec 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sun Dec 29, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition

Search for More Events