Partners

Partners
  • PROOF: Photography in the Era of the Contact Sheet

    June 30, 2020 – August 22, 2020

Presented by:
The Cleveland Museum of Art

Tickets: $0

Register Here

About the Event:

The rising popularity of roll film encouraged more and more exposures; the best frame would be chosen later. The photographer first saw positive images on the contact sheet, which was marked up for printing and served as a lasting reference. Digital technology has put an end to that era: the photographer now sees the image instantly, and systems of storage, retrieval, and editing have become increasingly sophisticated. As photography proliferated in galleries and museums in the 1970s, photographers occasionally printed all the images from one roll of film together and presented the result as a finished work of art. Typically, however, the contact sheet remained within the working process, out of public view. That is why it is remarkable that the late Cleveland collector Mark Schwartz was able to build a comprehensive collection of contact sheets.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

June 30, 2020 – August 22, 2020

  • Sun Jul 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Tue Jul 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Wed Jul 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Thu Jul 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Fri Jul 17, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Sat Jul 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Sun Jul 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Tue Jul 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Wed Jul 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Thu Jul 23, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Fri Jul 24, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Sat Jul 25, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Sun Jul 26, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Tue Jul 28, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Wed Jul 29, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Thu Jul 30, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Fri Jul 31, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Sat Aug 1, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Sun Aug 2, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Performance
  • Tue Aug 4, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Aug 5, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Aug 6, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Aug 7, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Aug 8, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Aug 9, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Aug 11, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Aug 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Aug 13, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Aug 14, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Aug 15, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sun Aug 16, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Tue Aug 18, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Wed Aug 19, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Thu Aug 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Fri Aug 21, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
  • Sat Aug 22, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Exhibition
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Types

Performance, Exhibition


This event is

Free, Family Friendly

Nearby Public Artwork

You May Also Like

Search for More Events