Partners

Partners
  • Totally Radical: Art and Politics in the 1980s

    March 3, 2021 – September 18, 2021

Presented by:
Akron Art Museum
About the Event:

Drawn entirely from the Akron Art Museum’s permanent collection, the works of art in Totally Radical span the decade’s flashpoints. They show artists adopting techniques from advertising, bringing previously unseen images to light, and pushing photography in new directions, all to get their points across. Ultimately, these artists did not merely wish to make themselves and their communities more visible. Instead, they hoped that their work would share vital and even deeply personal concerns with the public. They insisted that their voices should be heard. As art museums and American society as a whole seek broader conversations about justice and equity in the present, we can look back and learn from their example.

Event Schedule: Add to Calendar

March 3, 2021 – September 18, 2021

  • Thu Apr 15, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 22, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Apr 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Apr 29, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Apr 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 1, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 6, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri May 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 8, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 13, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri May 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 15, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 20, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri May 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 22, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu May 27, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri May 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat May 29, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 3, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 5, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 10, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 12, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 17, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 19, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jun 24, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jun 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jun 26, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 1, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 2, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 3, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 8, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 9, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 15, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 16, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 22, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 23, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 24, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Jul 29, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Jul 30, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Jul 31, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 5, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 6, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 7, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 12, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 13, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 14, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 19, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 20, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 21, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Aug 26, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Aug 27, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Aug 28, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 2, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 3, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 4, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 9, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 10, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 11, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Thu Sep 16, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Fri Sep 17, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Sat Sep 18, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Show All Dates
Location:


Category

Visual Arts


Type

Exhibition


This event is

Free, Funded by OAC

Nearby Public Artwork

You May Also Like

Search for More Events